Coffee Table Ideas

Okay I lied. I wasn’t able to finish off the updates I mentioned. Can you tell I have some adjusting to do when it comes to my workout-cook-work-blog scheduling?

I went over some ideas I had in mind for the coffee table instead. I mentioned here that our coffee table needs some major sprucing up. The melamine is chipped and I’m not a fan of the brown-black, even though it does go pretty well with our Expedit.

This is just a clever photo

This is just a clever photo.

I want something that’s eye-catching but subtle. I know for sure that I want to paint the whole thing a off-white or ivory to begin with, and cover it with a wood tone top.

Source: Houzz

I mentioned in that post that I didn’t want to plank it, but I’m also not positive about just adding a new top and finishing it. By the way, I totally have a Jigsaw now, which may be the cause for my sudden ambition – my previous plan involved having Home Depot cut my plywood down to exactly what I needed. But with a Jigsaw, I can play around with ideas a little bit.

I spied Design Manifest’s gorgeous barn wood wall during the One Week Challenge, and loved how the staggered planks looked.

Source: Design Manifest

I’m not sure how great that will look with smaller pieces though. I can see a pattern like that looking great with narrower/shorter pieces – on a floor. Or even a wall. But while the staggered look and (hopefully) barely-there seams courtesy of my Jigsaw might get me the modern look, it doesn’t quite feel right.

Source: Design*Sponge

That, I found while going through old inspiration emails I’d saved. I saw that on Design*Sponge ages ago, and thought it was really cool. I don’t think  I can pull something like that off, but it’s certainly a fantastic source of inspiration (and maybe a project for 5 years down the road).

My finishing touch – which will really bring out the contrast between the creamy white and the dark wood top  – is going to be a bar top finish. I know Envirotex Lite has some good reviews, so that’s an option, though I’m concerned about getting a too-thick coating.

Source: Pinterest 

Look how glossy!

A less glossy but equally beautiful option is Tung oil, which I’ve heard is great for finishing wood. That idea is definitely a maybe because it depends on a) if I use real wood/plywood as opposed to veneer and b) if it’s safe for the cats.

Source: Pinterest

Considering how glossy the sheens are, maybe I should just worry less about the design of the top I end up deciding on.

I’m excited to tackle this one in the upcoming weeks!

xo Rucha

One thought on “Coffee Table Ideas

Leave a Reply

