Bedroom Evolution: Shelf Life

Decorative hanging shelf

In my clothes rack post I mentioned that I had to remove one of the planks from the top shelf of the rack in order to create a balance. Well that meant that I had a gray stained plank lying around just waiting for me to do something with it. The planks are scrap wood that I got off Craigslist, so I didn’t want to create something too time-consuming or complicated.

I’ve been wanting to put a decorative shelf up in our bedroom for a while. I say decorative because our books are upstairs in our living room, and I wanted a more personal place to keep some decor items/gifts that have meaning to us. Plus it would be pretty. The leftover plank was perfect for a simple, rustic shelf.

Ideally I would attach shelves with brackets but since we’re in a rental, I didn’t want to make too many giant holes we’d regret later. I got a pack of picture hangers and threaded white rope through 4 drilled holes in the plank. It was pretty simple, so I didn’t take photos of the process – you just make sure you measure so that the holes are evenly spaced from the corners, and use a drill bit large enough for the rope you’ll be using. I figured white rope would go well against the mint walls while complementing the gray stain.

Then it was just a matter of hanging it up. The photo above makes it look wonky, and frankly I think our floors are uneven or something. I kept thinking that things looked crooked, but the level told me otherwise so I went with it.

I also had another mini-DIY project that contributed to the shelf – a Metal Earth 3D model of the Black Pearl.

Black Pearl Metal Earth model

I damn near went blind putting it together, but it was fun. Side note: my nightstand top is holding up pretty well, though the cats run around on it all day!

_DSC0430

I love that little ship. The gold and crystal pieces were both gifts from family when Matt and I visited India. Turtles are symbols of good luck and the swans are a symbol of love. I actually really like the metal accents together.

The hand-hammered copper pieces in this post have a larger counterpart, which I put a couple of fresh white carnations in. I love having a place to put flowers, and the cats can’t get to them up here which is a great bonus. I don’t even bother with flowers in the living areas any more.

I like how a simple update refreshes an entire room, and I’ll wait a couple of weeks before deciding if I want to tweak anything about the current set up on this wall. For now, I love how cheery this looks.

Hand hammered copper flowers

xo Rucha

Leave a Reply

