Nooks and Crannies

Ever notice how there are parts of your home that usually go unnoticed, or are ignored? For us, that would be a little space across from both bedrooms. It’s a random corner outside our roommate’s bathroom that exists because of the storage closet built out from the wall. For the longest time, it was empty, and then I got that overlarge decorative table, which caused this:

Storage Corner

Yeah, it became a catch-all space for whatever was going on (in this case, I was boxing up some stuff to put away).

When I got the table I mentioned that I’d use it in our closet, but the clothes rack takes up a bunch of space while this would have no real function. So I figured this empty corner was the perfect blank canvas for a decorative space. A lot of the time, incorporating function into decor and design is key, so it was fun to not have to worry about that.  Since it’s a high traffic area, I wanted something simple and non-disruptive.

I would have loved to save the wood tones of the table and stain it, but there was some damage to the top.

Damaged Top

I learned after starting to paint that I could have scraped the entire top down to the bare wood, but I’m not exactly the most experienced woodworker. I decided to go ahead with the paint instead of sanding it down again. My primer coat wasn’t very thick, and the table needed 3 coats of paint – Sherwin Williams Westhighland White – before it was done. I also wanted to add a metallic touch (I’m obsessed – more on that later), so I had some fun with the feet.

Gold feet

I heart Rub n Buff.

I initially also planned to paint the carved pattern gold but it turned out to be impossible to get the gold paint in there, so I left it as it was.

Between the carving and the various curves in the legs, painting this piece was less than straightforward. So many nooks and crannies. Mainly the crannies.

But the end result was worth it.

Downstairs nook

Matt decided to hang up that photo there – it’s one he took of the Bay Bridge, that I had printed and mounted for his birthday. It’s been sitting around for more than a month while we debated where to hang it up, so it finally has a spot! I opted for LED lights instead of flowers because the cats are always hanging out on that table, and I hate keeping track of which plants are toxic to them (feels like they all are).

I think I’ll add a photo on the second wall soon, but right now seeing this makes me smile.

Bay Bridge photo and updated table

 

xo Rucha

4 thoughts on “Nooks and Crannies

Leave a Reply

