Wishlist Wednesday: October 29th, 2014

It finally feels like fall is here in San Francisco. Temperatures are dipping, I’m going to track my scarves down soon, and I actually feel like decorating for the season.

Fall is my 2nd favorite season after winter, even though California doesn’t exactly have much of a winter. I love the serenity of snow and the transformed wintry landscapes, and the latter half of the year definitely makes me itch for a place of my own to decorate and change as I see fit. I dream of gorgeous stone fireplaces and cozy baths that I could design according to our tastes.

And if I really had my way, I’d have a ridiculously over the top bath. Say, one that included this bathtub from Fancy.com:

Golf leaf bathtub fancy.com 24k gold bath paris skyline
Source: Fancy.com

Of course, in my head, that (gigantic, of course) bathroom has natural lighting and creamy grey marble, with that tub as a focal point, maybe with a skylight over it. Clearly, in my head, I’ve also won the lottery.

That thing is a whopping $22,310, so this is definitely a wishlist item that’ll stay on the list. But a girl can dream right? It’s beautiful. Maybe one day I’ll have a bathtub that I need to replace and I’ll use it as a guinea pig for an ambitious DIY attempt. I’ll keep you posted – probably via a “What on earth was I thinking?” post.

Meanwhile, on the more realistic end of things, I’ve apparently been hiding under a rock because I didn’t realize that Darby Smart existed. I think I might have briefly seen an ad on Facebook – it’s a DIY monthly subscription box – and dismissed it because I wasn’t sure I wanted a prepackaged DIY project coming in the mail every month. I think it’s a really cool idea though, especially if you’re really busy, but like being crafty and making things regularly. What I also realized today is that they also sell supplies and project kits outside of monthly subscriptions – due to which I promptly bought their wood burning set.

Darby Smart wood burning set woodburning pen

Source: Darby Smart

What I liked about the set is that I could customize to fit my needs, so I eliminated the box in favor of just the pen, stain, brush and letters. I have a couple ideas in mind already, you’ll just have to wait and see!

In a similar vein, I’ve been obsessing over the 3Doodler for months. It’s a 3D printing pen that you can use to make sculptures and 3D drawings. The only thing stopping me is that I don’t want it to be a toy that I get and set aside after a gleeful three days, but the more I read their blog, the more I think that with practice, it would be a useful tool to have.

3Doodler 3DTotal Publishing bird kickstarter book master-your-3D pen

Source: 3Doodler

Imagine a world where doodling doesn’t waste time, but brings your ideas to life. That bird is made from doodles. Doodles, you guys. It’s like my bored-10-year-old-doodling-in-class’ ultimate dream come true.

(Hey Matt, if you’re reading this, Christmas is only 2 months away!)

Seriously though, I think I might get the 3Doodler in the next year or so – I’ve seen some mixed media ideas that I feel could be incorporated into a decor project, but it would definitely be a really unique way to attempt home decor. It’s plastic, and it’ll be hard to make it look pretty, but half the fun is experimenting and facing a challenge.

If anything, I’ll have a way to make Halloween decorations next year.

xo Rucha

One thought on “Wishlist Wednesday: October 29th, 2014

Leave a Reply

