It’s that time of the year

It’s hard to believe we’re nearing the end of the year. Maybe it’s just me, but 2014 kind of whizzed by. Since we’re not quite in lets-talk-about-resolutions territory yet, I’ve been trying to add festive touches around the house for the holidays. Matt and I celebrate Christmas with his family and I’ve never decorated for the holidays in my life, so it’s been kind of fun being in entirely new territory.

The first thing I did was make a wreath, mainly because our roommate asked for one, and well, they’re just so pretty. I decided to make a burlap wreath that I might just keep on our door year round, switching up the accessories for the seasons. I found various tutorials online, but my favorite one was over at Try On A Homemade Life. It’s really detailed and has step-by-step photos (which, by the way, I tried to do for my own project but the sheer amount of glitter I was shaking off the burlap put a stop to that really quickly).

Wreath fullI also picked up some pine cones and other decorations to add to the wreath, and I love how it turned out. I just stuck them in the folds of the burlap, which has worked surprisingly well so far.

Wreath close upIf you notice, I also used two kinds of burlap, one with a tighter weave. I picked up the two kinds on a whim and my instincts definitely paid off – I love the variation in texture and slight change in color.

So far that’s been the most obviously holiday-themed project I’ve done. I used a leftover scrap of burlap to line the top of the bookcase, since we don’t exactly have a mantel, and put my trusty Crate & Barrel LED string lights in a red vase for an easy update. I also have approximately eleventy billion pine cones from when I went shopping for fall decor, so those are scattered around too.

Bookcase decorOh I also got a bunch of tinsel, because you can’t do holiday decor without tinsel. Hey I like glittery shiny things, okay? It made our incredibly regular and boring stairwell look a lot nicer.

Staircase tinselAnd added some punch to the mail holder/coat rack.

RAV_4842Seriously, look how shiny.

close up staircase tinselThere’s definitely more to come (like a tree!) and possibly an overhaul of our current living room arrangement. The holidays are definitely a time for crafting and I’ll post more in the next couple of weeks with projects and updates.

Also really quickly – if any of you dear readers bought my Etched Holiday Votives kit over at Darby Smart, a big thank you! The kit is now sold out, and if you guys like it but didn’t get a chance to pick one up, you can vote it back! Here’s what the votives look like:

etched holiday votives darby smartMeanwhile, I’m working on more designs as we speak.

For now, hope everyone’s warm and cozy – and those in the Bay Area getting walloped by rain, stay safe!

xo Rucha

 

Leave a Reply

