Wishlist Wednesday: December 17, 2014

I’ve been thinking about rearranging our living room lately, and one thing that bugs me is our bookcase. Our apartment is pretty decent-sized, but it’s astonishing how much real estate a 2×8 Ikea bookcase can take up.

There are definitely some gorgeous bookcase designs out there, but many of them still take up more space than might be ideal. Martina Carpelan, a Finnish designer, has a cool storage solution that I love.

martina carpelan corner bookcase storage shelfSource: Martina Carpelan

The design could just as easily be used in the kitchen or other rooms. What I like most is that you could use it both a positive or negative corner of the room. The downside is, one shelf wouldn’t hold too many books, and at 95 euros a pop, that’s quite a bit to spend. Even so, it’d be cute as a bedside bookshelf – if your room has weird proportions – and it’s also inspiration for a DIY version of your own.

Something else that I’ve been thinking of lately, is the large wall in our staircase landing. It’s pretty high, and it’s a lot of blank space to look at, which is rather uninteresting.

Eazywallz has a pretty awesome collection of removable wall murals, and you can customize the size, as well as create one with your own photos. I’m in love with this one (I couldn’t get a larger size):

SF pier 7  Source: Eazywallz

That’s a shot I’ve been wanting to get for a while now, and I’m considering attempting to DIY a photographic mural if I get the perfect shot. The biggest challenge would be covering a large wall, as well as figuring out a way to make sure it’s removable. The more I think about it, the more excited I am to try this out – so this is going on the project list for sure!

xo Rucha

Leave a Reply

