Holidays 2014 (aka it’s almost time for another year)

Can’t believe it’s the last day of 2014. In lieu of a Wishlist Wednesday post, this one’s a bit of an update.

I’ve really loved learning new DIY skills and blogging this year. Blogging was something I started when I was 14, but it was never really something I could regularly keep up with. With a blog dedicated to a theme, however, it’s been a lot easier, though I still don’t blog as often as I’d like. Part of it is not having the time to DIY stuff to, you know, talk about, but another part is that I don’t want to make things and blog about them just for the sake of the blog. That’s a quick way to ruin any interest I have in this whole endeavor.

As the year wrapped up, Christmas was definitely an excuse to putter around the house and craft things. Thing is, for the 6 weeks or so leading up to Christmas, I was in the application and interview process for a new job. As you can imagine, it took a lot of my time and energy, and the Thanksgiving trip that generated over a thousand photos just added to my task list. It wasn’t all for nought – I got the job! Meanwhile, I also got some pretty Christmas photos of our place and at our in-laws’.

Christmas tree

Red wreathI made another wreath to add festive touches indoors, and I love how this one turned out. I think I might just get into seasonal wreaths.

Other than the two wreaths, I did a photo-to-canvas transfer of a couple of photos form Alaska to have some fun with string lights.

Photo canvas transfer

I poked holes where the lights would go – I didn’t mean to poke so many holes in the poor reindeer’s face, it just happened to be a spot where the transfer didn’t take very well.

Photo canvas strings lights

SO yeah from the front it looks kind of ridiculous. I mainly added the photo to the canvas so it wouldn’t look like a blank canvas hung up on the wall during the day. However, it looks pretty nice from the side, and since it’s in a corner, you don’t really look at it head on.

RAV_4918

RAV_4937

I love lights and Christmas trees really make for great bokeh in photos. So I went a little crazy.

RAV_4949

More lights = prettier bokeh. I’ll remember that next year.

RAV_4884For this upcoming year I hope to tackle more (and more challenging) projects, and I also plan to dedicate a separate blog to my photography. It’ll take time away from this blog, but it’s something I love doing and want to get better at. So that’ll be my part-wish-part-resolution for today.

Bokeh Christmas Tree

Have a happy a safe New Year’s everyone!

xo Rucha

One thought on “Holidays 2014 (aka it’s almost time for another year)

Leave a Reply

